## Ress Release

## **Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit**

Ref: 306a06

Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93 Fax:+33 3 90 21 41 34 pace.com@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



## 46 members

Albania
Andorra
Armenia
Austria
Azerbaijan
Belgium
Bosnia and
Herzegovina
Bulgaria
Croatia
Cyprus
Czech Republi

Czech Republic Denmark

Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary

Iceland

Estonia

Ireland
Italy
Latvia
Liechtenstein
Lithuania
Luxembourg

Malta Moldova Monaco Netherlands Norway Poland

Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia and Montenegro Slovakia

Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland

"The former Yugoslav Republic of

Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine

United Kingdom

## PACE: parliamentary summit in Tallinn looks at legislators' growing role in diplomacy

Strasbourg, 24.05.2006 – Some 40 Speakers and presidents of parliament from the 46 Council of Europe member states, as well as the heads of the European Parliament, the Nordic Council, the WEU Assembly and Benelux, will gather in Tallinn from 30 to 31 May 2006 for a parliamentary summit on the twin themes "Bridge-building through parliamentary diplomacy" and "The role of parliaments in promoting pluralistic democracy at home and abroad".

Co-hosted by the Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly (PACE) and the *Riigikogu*, the Estonian Parliament, the European Conference of Presidents of Parliaments will look at how legislators from different European countries are increasingly acting together, alongside or instead of governments, to solve conflicts and spread democracy. Around 300 participants are expected.

Following introductory speeches by PACE President René van der Linden, *Riigikogu* President Toomas Varek and European Parliament President Josep Borrell, there will be presentations on the conference themes from the Speakers of the Swedish Riksdag, the Belgian House of Representatives, the Greek Parliament and the Georgian Parliament.

The Secretaries-General of the participating parliaments and assemblies are also due to hold a separate meeting.

The first European Speakers' conference was held in 1975. It takes place every two years, hosted alternately in Strasbourg or in the capital of a Council of Europe member state.

The conference is open to accredited press (contact the *Riigikogu* Press Service, details below), with full press facilities available.

The plenary session begins at 3 p.m. on Tuesday 30 May in the Art Museum of Estonia (KUMU), Weizenbergi 34/Valge 1, 10127 Tallinn, and ends at 5.30 p.m. on Wednesday 31 May.

PACE President René van der Linden and *Riigikogu* President Toomas Varek will be available to meet the press at 1 p.m. on Wednesday 31 May in the main conference hall.

Further information, including a full programme, list of participants and the conference papers, can be found on the <u>conference website</u>.

**Contact for PACE**: Angus Macdonald, PACE Communication Unit, tel. +33 3 88 41 34 39, mobile +33 6 30 49 68 20, e-mail angus.macdonald@coe.int

Contact for the Riigikogu: Aivar Jarne, Head of the Riigkogu Press Service, tel. + 372 6316 356, e-mail aivar.jarne@riigikogu.ee